| |

Jake Euker Stubbornly Independent Award

Four official selections competed for this year’s Stubbornly Independent Gala Screening/Party and additional prizes including: $5,000 cash prize sponsored by Paula & Barry Downing; and a one-of-a-kind Stubbornly Independent Tap Handle Award from Van Chase Studios.

The winning film, Dustin Cook’s I HATE THE MAN IN MY BASEMENT, was selected by a jury of industry professionals. To Cook “Stubbornly Independent is believing in your story and doing whatever it takes to tell it, after hearing "no" along with all the reasons it won't work,” said Cook.

This is the sixth year of the Jake Euker Stubbornly
Independent competition. Eligible films must be domestic narrative feature films made for $500,000 or less without traditional, theatrical, domestic distribution at the time of the festival screening. Previous winners have all gone on to secure distribution following their appearance at the Tallgrass Film Festival. 

Get Tickets >

All 2017 Stubbornly Independent Nominees

2017 Stubbornly Independent Jury:

  • Rebecca Celli - Director, Sales and Marketing, Cargo Films and Releasing
  • Nancy Gerstman - Co-President/Founder, Zeitgeist Films
  • Jeffrey Winter - Co-Executive Director, Film Collaborative

Previous Stubbornly Independent Award Winners:

  • 2016 | DELINQUENT (d. Kieran Valla)
  • 2015 | A LIGHT BENEATH THEIR FEET (d. Valerie Weiss)
  • 2014 | THE LIVING (d. Jack Bryan)
  • 2013 | FAVOR (d. Paul Osborne) 2012 |
  • THE KITCHEN (d. Ishai Setton